DATE
DUE THAT DAY
WORK IN CLASS



Fri May 24

Work Day: Either Memoir Piece
Thurs May 23

Elections
Group Activity & Listen to "This I Believe"
Tues May 21
Bring a photo of yourself when you were younger
Stranger in the Photo prompt
Fri May 17
Read and be ready to prepare and discuss "The Third and Final Continent" by Jhumpa Lahiri
finish mock final if necessary
finish discussion "3rd and FC"
group evaluation of mock final
Thurs May 16
Be ready for mock final
Mock final: to be taken in Rick Biskup's room
Tues May 14

debrief "GSB"
begin discussion "3rd and FC"
Mon May 13

Student led discussion: "Gilded Six Bits"
Fri May 10
Be ready to discuss "Gilded Six Bits"
Shared Inquiry Discussion: "GSB"
Thurs May 9
Be ready to discuss "Good Country People"
SummerREAD Cart B
Shared Inquiry Discussion: "CGP"
Fri May 3
Study for Vocab Quiz #10
Vocab Quiz #10
Thurs May 2

Begin Short Stories
Tues Apr 30

Go over vocab lesson #10
SAT essays
SAT practice
Mon Apr 29
RESEARCH ESSAY DUE: This means both your full essay with Works Cited attached PLUS
Packet with everything including revised and edited drafts
Hand in work
Review vocab words
Return SAT essays
Debrief Research & Grit
Begin Short Storie
Fri Apr 26
Editing Day 2:
Work on your own

Thurs Apr 25
Editing Day:
We will look at both sentences and grammar
Bring questions about grammar, sentence style, or MLA.
Work with a partner on editing
Tues Apr 23
Be ready to revise with a partner at the beginning of class. This means your draft is as good as you can make it.
Revision Day
Mon April 22
Reacquaint yourself with your paper.
Vocab Lesson 10!
Work with a partner on revision
Thurs Apr 11--due before you leave for break
Full Rough Draft by the end of the period (not to be evaluated, but ready for revision upon returning from break)
Topic to Question
Macro (completion grade)
Micro (optional)
Works Cited
One body paragraph to me for comments (up to you, only helpful feedback, no evaluation)

Tues Apr 9
8-9 paragraphs drafted
Write
Mon Apr 8
Intro + 5-7 paragraphs drafted
Write/Reviese
Fri Apr 5
3-4 paragraphs drafted
Turn in paragraph to me for feedback
Write/Compile
Thurs Apr 4
1-2 paragraphs drafted
Works Cited
Write/Compile
Tues Apr 2
Question to Claim
Micro (optional)
Macro/Micro/write
Mon Apr 1
All notes and close readings should be finished
Macro
SAT prompt
Thurs Mar 29

Macro
Mon Mar 19/
Before you leave for CEP
Aim for two more pieces of research done. Any of the following:
CR#3, SN #3, SN #4
Research in Library
Mon Mar 18

Research in Library
Thurs Mar 14
By the end of the day, the following pieces should be finished. Turn them in as you're done with them through the week:
Close Reading #1
Topic to Question
Secondary Source Notes #1
Secondary Source Notes #2
Close Reading #2
Research in Library
Tues Mar 12

Research in Library
Mon Mar 11
Research Book Finished
CR #1
Research in Library
Mon Mar 11
Research book finished
Research in Library
Fri Mar 8
Close Reading #1 due
Read Research book

Thurs Mar 7
Read Research book
Close Reading #1
Mon Mar 4
Glossing of Narrative Essay due
Gatsby Art Assignments
Intro Vocab #10
Distribute Research packets
Fri Mar 1
Read your research book
Research practice with Ms. Hamilton
Thurs Feb 28
Read your research book
Finish Reading Quiz follow up assignment--due in class
Begin Art Assignment
Mon Feb 25
When you return from break:
After we finish Gatsby, we'll move right to research. Finish Gatsby and start your research book...We expect you to have your research book finished by Monday, March 11.

Fri Feb 15
Read Gatsby chapter 7
Research choice due

Thurs Feb 14
Read Gatsby chapters 4-6
reading quiz
Tues Feb 12

work on topic chart
literary terms
Mon Feb 11
Read Gatsby chapter 4
Vocab Quiz #9

Fri Feb 8
SNOW DAY

Thurs Feb 7
Read Gatsby chapters 2-3

Tues Feb 5

Research intro
1/2 Class--Hector Hebert
Mon Feb 4
Read Gatsby ch 1
Look for evidence of the topics you brainstormed in class
Discuss ch 1
Vocab #9
Fri Feb 1
Final Draft of Narrative Essay Due!

Mon Jan 28
Narrative Essay first draft due
Peer revision in class
Thurs/Fri Jan 24 & 25
Be Ready for Book Discussion
Discussions will all take place during third period either Thurs. or Fri. Check the schedule on the project page.
If you need to use the time to meet with a teacher to attend to a class you're missing b/c of Comm Book, we can make arrangements.
Tues Jan 22

Book finished quick quiz
Fri Jan 18
Book Finished!
Refined journal entry due at end of period
Thurs Jan 17
Read your book
Narrative essay work in class/Community Book Agendas introduction
Fri Jan 11
READ!
Study for vocabulary quiz
Vocab quiz 7 & 8
Thurs Jan 10
READ!
Poetry Out Loud!
Good Luck Jordan Brown!!
Tues Jan 9
READ!

Fri Jan 4
Read your Community Book Discussion Book!
please bring it to class with you each day
Critical Theory Lenses with Catcher in the Rye
Thurs Jan 3
Welcome Back!
SAT prep
vocab intro 7 & 8
return essays
Fri Dec 14
Study for vocab quiz
Vocabulary Quiz 5 & 6
Thurs Dec 13
Catcher 15-20 due:
Type out a passage from this section significant in the book so far. (Not the little boy singing "Catcher in the Rye" passage). Be ready to talk about why you think it is important.

Fri Dec 7
Choices for Community Book Discussion Due:
Go the Community Book Discussion wiki to make your choices. (Located on the home page)
Catcher 8-14: Pay attention to the following as you read
  • The qualities of Holden's narration
  • Holden's discussion and experience with romantic relationships and sexuality
  • Holden's comments about parents

Thurs Dec 6

No Class--Assembly
Tues Dec 4

POL Recitations
Fri Nov 30
Catcher in the Rye 1-7 due. Read and be ready for a reading check:
Use sticky notes (available in my room) or paper to note the following as you read:
  • Characters
  • What type of narrator is Holden?
  • What does Holden care about? What does he like?
  • Signals of time in the novel--events happening close to the telling and prior

Thurs Nov 29
Poem Memorization Check & Tone Map Due

Tues Nov 27
Work on poem memorization check
POL Work: Tone Map & Louder than a Bomb
Intro vocab 5 & 6
Mon Nov 26
Welcome Back
Finish scenes
Lang&Comp survey
Intro Community Book Discussion
Tues Nov 20
Be ready for your performance AND Staging Essay Due!
Work on memorizing your poem for POL
Performances!
Mon Nov 19
Work on memorizing your poem for POL
Work on your scene & staging essay
Scene practice and work
Fri Nov 15
Complete your character study and close reading. I won't collect this, but you'll use it in your staging essay.
Work on memorizing your poem for POL
Discuss Staging Essay
Scene practice
Tues Nov 13
Read and be familiar with 4.1
Final scene selection and casting due
Work on memorizing your poem for POL
Discuss 4.1
Scene work:
You should cut and discuss your scene using the analysis/research step in the project description in the packet. (Take notes so you can include it in your staging essay)
Thurs Nov 8
Read through 3.2 & 3.3 and be ready to talk and work with the scenes.
Discuss 3.2 & 3.3
Meet with groups to discuss scene possibilities
Tues Nov 6
Spend some time reading through 3.1 and design a set. Make a schematic drawing of the stage, props, entrances & exits, and a basic plan for how the scene would work.
Small groups: 3.1
Final scene information
Mon Nov 5
Analytical assignment due
Bring in at least one high quality image that could be used as inspiration for setting, characterization, topic or theme of the play.
Class block of 2.3
Fri Nov 2
Annotations, topic sentence, and examples figured out for your analytical paragraph
2.2
Thurs Nov 1
Choose your lines for analytical assignment and come to class with them typed into a Pages Document.
2.1
Tues Oct 30

Work on analytical assignment; acting exercise; MEAT
Mon Oct 29
Review synopsis and characters in 1.1

Thurs Oct 25
Go back to 1.1 lines 1-143: Find a significant line for the following characters: Leonato, Hero, Beatrice, Benedick. Answer this question for each: What does the line reveal about the character? What can you infer about this person from the line they deliver? 3-4 sentences each if possible.
overview Much Ado,
continue 1.1
Tues Oct 23
Study for Vocab Quiz 3 & 4
Gloss of descriptive essay due if you haven't turned it in already.
Vocabulary Quiz 3 & 4
preview: Much Ado
Mon Oct 22
Gloss of Descriptive Essay due
Choose your POL poem. Use this form on this link to choose: Poetry Out Loud
Submit your "likes" using the Google links I emailed you during class
Begin Shakespeare: interactive slideshow
Fri Oct 19
Four poems due, one with revision(s) made. Hand in all poems, notes and drafts.
Review glossing process
vocab practice
POL
Thurs Oct 18
Bring your 4 original poems for revision workshop
Revision workshop
Vocab words
Tues Oct 16
Be ready for Poetry Test
Poetry Test
Intro vocab 3 & 4
Mon Oct 15
Be ready for Poetry Tournament conclusion and Poetry "Test"

Fri Oct 12
No Class--Presentation by Jack Gilman and company

Thurs Oct 11
No Class--Presentation by Mrs. Pagelson
Be ready for revision workshop with your original poems

Tues Oct 9
Be ready for the Poetry Tournament
Poetry Tournament (OC)
Fri Oct 5
Write an animal poem using Anne Sexton's poems as a model.
Figurative Langage
Thurs Oct 4
Revisit the poem you wrote in class today and type it up. Left justify the margins, single space, title at the top, name at the bottom.
Find a sonnet (by someone other than Shakespeare) and a villanelle
Architecture
Thurs Sept 27
Using the packet and the new sound terms we went over in class answer the following question for one poem:
How does the poet's use of a sound tool contribute to a meaning in the poem? Write out your answer.

Tues Sept 25
Study for vocab quiz
Vocab Quiz 1 & 2
Mon Sept 24
Write a limerick

Fri Sept 21
Go to www.poetryoutloud.org and find a metered poem. Print and scan it. You can also check out www.poets.org or www.poetryfoundation.org

Thurs Sept 20
Final Draft of Descriptive Essay due
How did that go? questions
Begin Poetry
Tues Sept 18
Full first draft due for peer review in class
peer review
Mon Sept 17
2-3 pages of your essay due
SEC and Style
Sentence variety exercise
Fri Sept 14
1/2 a draft due--around 2 pages.
Putting it together--floating paragraphs
initial peer review
Thurs Sept 13
Journal #2: 20 minute brainstorm about a place (either close to you or one you've only visited once)
Discuss "Beneath My House"
Decisions
Refined journal entry
Tues Sept 11
Be ready for your book discussion (notes with passages and questions)
SummerREAD book discussion
period 3
Mon Sept 10
Read "Mother's Watch" and "Beneath My House" in the packet

Fri Sept 7
1. Spend 10 minutes describing the object you brought in subjectively: how is it important, why did you select it?
2. Read, compose questions, sign syllabus page for return
3. Prepare notes for book discussion
1. Finish objective description
2. Distribute packet
3. Read one essay together
4. This is Just to Say
Thurs Sept 6
Bring in an interesting object that belongs to you
Begin Descriptive Essay
Tues Sept 4

Poem: read and write
SummerREAD info
Shakespeare & Much Ado About Nothing
Poems for Poetry "Test":

Everyday the Pregnant Teenagers

Bright Sun after Heavy Snow

Where I Live
Close Reading Explanation
Slam, Dunk, & Hook Sample Annotation
Descriptive Essay
SummerREAD Discussion info here: