DATE
DUE THAT DAY
WORK IN CLASS






Wed May 29 (W)

This I Believe
Fri May 24 (W)
Bring in a picture of yourself when you were younger
Stranger in the Photo/work time
SEC Postteset
Wed May 22 (W)
Thurs May 23 (B)
Final Research Essay Due
OpEd: Local/work time
Begin inside/outside
"This I Believe"
Thurs May 16 (W)/Tues May 21(B)
Revised copy due (all content finalized)

Tues May 14 (W)/Fri May 17 (B)
Full Rough Draft due
all body paragraphs + intro & conclusion

Fri May 10 (W)/Mon May 13 (B)
finish body paragraphs

Wed May 8 (W)/Thurs May 9 (B)
3 more body paragraphs due

Mon May 6 (W)/Tues May 7 (B)
2 more body paragraphs due

Thurs May 2 (W)/Fri May 3 (B)
Intro + 1 body paragraph due

Tues Apr 30 (W)/Wed May 1 (B)
MACRO
MACRO/
Question to Claim in class
Fri Apr 26 (W)/Mon Apr 29 (B)
5B: Be ready for MACRO organizing!
To do this, you must have 3 close readings and 3 sets of secondary notes completed.
4W: Finish your MACRO--check notes below for info

Wed Apr 24 (W)/Thurs Apr 25 (B
4W: Be ready for MACRO organizing!
To do this, you must have 3 close readings and 3 sets of secondary notes completed
MACRO
Mon Apr 22 (W)/Tues Apr 23 (B)
Welcome Back
Work Return
Work on your own on Notes and Close Reading #3 if you haven't already finished
Wed Apr 10 (W)/Thurs Apr 11 (B)
Before you leave for break:
Two sets of secondary notes and two close readings due.
CR #1 + SN #1 on Q3
CR# #2 + SN #2 on Q4
Library
Mon Apr 8 (W)/Tues Apr 9 (B)
Secondary Notes #1 due if you haven't already turned them in
Library
Thurs Apr 4 (W)/Fri Apr 5
Close Reading #1 due
Study for Vocabulary Assessment #2 (I've emailed you the words you have missed)
Secondary Notes due by the end of the period
4W & 5B: Vocab Assessment #2--all words you got wrong on #1 + other words = 30
In the Library: Introduction to secondary sources and notetaking format
By the end of the period: 1st set of secondary notes due
Tues Apr 2(W)/Wed Apr 3 (B)
RESEARCH BOOK DONE!!
Short assessment in class
Work on first Close Reading and Topic to Question in class.
Due at end of period
Fri Mar 29 (W)/Mon Apr 1 (B)
4W: Study for vocab assessment #2
5B: Study for vocab assessment #1
Read your book
5B: Vocab Assessment #1
Everyone: SAT Prompt 25 minutes
Wed Mar 27 (W)/Thurs Mar 28 (B)
4W: Study for vocab assessment #1
5B:
Practice due--either crossword or chapter by chapter practice;
Read your book. You should be 2/3 of the way finished.
4W: Vocab Assessment #1--all 95 words!
SAT Practice
Read research book in class
Mon Mar 25 (W)/Tues Mar 26 (B)
4W: Study for vocab assessment #1; Read your book. You should be 2/3 of the way finished.
5B: Vocab practice due--either crossword or chapter by chapter practice; Be through 1/3-1/2 of your book and continue using sticky notes to mark important passages.
4W: Return essays and gloss
Tues Mar 19 (W)
4W: Vocab practice due--either crossword or chapter by chapter practice;
Be through at least 1/3 of your book and continue using sticky notes to mark important passages
Read 30-50 pages and sticky note at least two passages that seem important to the novel.

Thurs Mar 14 (W)/
Mon Mar 18 (B)
4W: Vocab flashcards or quizlet due; Read 20-40 pages and sticky note at least two passages that seem important to the novel.
5B: Vocab flashcards or quizlet due
Read
Grit
Tues Mar 12 (W)/
Wed Mar 13 (B)
Final draft of Fahrenheit 451 essay due at the beginning of class
Library: declare and check out your research book.Start reading!
Distribute and go through research packets
Fri Mar 8 (W)/
Mon Mar 11 (B)
Full draft of Fahrenheit 451 essay due; we will work on editing your writing in class together
Research packet
Vocab 1-9 Review intro
Wed Mar 6 (W)
Thurs Mar 7 (B)
4W: Draft of Fahrenheit 451 essay due at the beginning of class
5B: introduction and one body paragraph due at the beginning of class
writing work, exemplar and exercises
Mon Mar 4 (W)/
Tues Mar 5(B)
study for vocab quiz
one body paragraph on Fahrenheit 451 essay due
Vocab Quiz 9
writing in class
intro research books
Mon Feb 25 (b)
Finish Fahrenheit 451 and be ready to start thinking about your analytical essay about your topic in the novel.

Fri Feb 15 (W)
Finish orange sheet with the boxes. You need to have at least 12 original claims, 9 of which connect to specific evidence from the text!
Finish orange sheet with the boxes. You need to have at least 12 original claims, 9 of which connect to specific evidence from the text!
Thurs Feb 14 (B)
Read through p 139 in Fahrenheit 451
Glossing of Narrative Essay due
reading quiz
Wed Feb 13 (W)
Read through p. 139 in Fahrenheit 451
reading quiz
Tues Feb 12 (B)
Be ready for vocabulary Quiz 8
Be finished with section 2 of Fahrenheit 451-through page 110
Vocab Quiz 8
Fri Feb 8 (B)/Mon Feb 11 (W)
Be ready for Vocabulary Quiz 8
Glossing of narrative essay due
5B: Finish section 2 of Fahrenheit 451--through page 110
Vocab Quiz 8
Wed Feb 6 (B)/Thurs Feb 7 (W)
5B: If you haven't finished through page 91, please DO SO for today!
4W: Finish second section of Fahrenheit 451

Literary Terms
Revisit topic sheets

Mon Feb 4 (B)/Tues Feb 5(W)
Read Fahrenheit 451 through page 91. Use the work we did in class to find passages that connect to the topic you identified
Glossing
Vocab 8 practice
Fri Feb 15 (W)
Finish orange sheet with the boxes. You need to have at least 12 original claims, 9 of which connect to specific evidence from the text!
Outline organization
Thurs Feb 14 (B)
Read through p 139 in Fahrenheit 451
Glossing of Narrative Essay due
reading quiz
Wed Feb 13 (W)
Read through p. 139 in Fahrenheit 451
reading quiz
Tues Feb 12 (B)
Be ready for vocabulary Quiz 8
Be finished with section 2 of Fahrenheit 451-through page 110
Vocab Quiz 8
Fri Feb 8 (B)/Mon Feb 11 (W)
Be ready for Vocabulary Quiz 8
Glossing of narrative essay due
5B: Finish section 2 of Fahrenheit 451--through page 110
Vocab Quiz 8
Wed Feb 6 (B)/Thurs Feb 7 (W)
5B: If you haven't finished through page 91, please DO SO for today!
4W: Finish second section of Fahrenheit 451
Literary Terms
Revisit topic sheets
Mon Feb 4 (B)/Tues Feb 5(W)
Read Fahrenheit 451 through page 91. Use the work we did in class to find passages that connect to the topic you identified.
Glossing
Vocab 8 practice
Thurs Jan 31 (B)/Fri Feb 1 (W)
Finish Section 1 of Fahrenheit, through page 68
Mark 3 passages in the novel that you want to discuss. I'll ask you about these on the reading quiz!
Reading quiz
Discuss themes, language, essential questions
Vocab 8 intro
Tues Jan 29 (B)/Wed Jan 30 (W)
Fahrenheit 451: read pages 1-31;
There will be a reading quiz
Reading quiz
Friday Jan 25 (B)/Mon Jan 28
Narrative Essay Final Draft due

Thurs Jan 24/Fri Jan 25
Be ready for Community Book Discussion
THIRD PERIOD: Community Book Discussions
Tues Jan 22(B)/Wed Jan 23 (W)

Tues Jan 22(B)/Wed Jan 23 (W)
Fri Jan 18 (B)/Mon Jan 19 (W)
BOOK FINISHED!!
Finish writing work in stations
Introduce agendas for discussion
Revision and editing work on your essay
Wed Jan 16 (B)/Thurs Jan 17 (W
Read your book/study for vocabulary quiz #7
Narrative Essay Draft due
Vocab Quiz #7
Writing work in stations
Mon Jan 14 (B)/Tues Jan 15 (W)
Read your book
Vocab review
Narrative Essay Work: work on writing
Thurs Jan 10 (B)/Fri Jan 11 (W)
Read your book
Narrative essay work:
structured journaling
topic, thesis, and polished storyboard due at the end of class
begin crafting your essay
Tues Jan 8
Read your book
Narrative essay work
Fri Jan 4
Read your Community Discussion Book!!
SAT practice
Intro to narrative essays
Thurs Dec 20 (B)/Fri Dec 21 (W)
Vocabulary Quiz 6
Final Performances!! (That means you all have to be here! If you know already that you're not going to be here, please let me know as soon as possible so we can make other arrangements).

Tues Dec 18 (B)/Wed Dec 19 (W)
All written pieces for your performance due

Fri Dec 14 (B)//Mon Dec 17 (W)
Close Reading/Character study for your character due

Wed Dec 12 (B)/Thurs Dec 13 (W)
Analysis and Research for your scene due. Answer all of the following questions in clear, thoughtful, and thorough sentences.
1. Outline the events of your scene.
2. What are the key purposes of your scene to the play overall?
3. What important themes/motifs are present in this scene?
4. What is interesting to watch on stage?
5. What should be emphasized in the scene?
6. Create a scene concept/design that best meets the needs of the scene and connects to the audience.

Tues Dec 4 (B)/Wed Dec 5 (W)
Be ready for your recitation
POL RECITATIONS
Fri Nov 30 (B)/Mon Dec 3 (W)


Wed Nov 28 (B)/Thurs Nov 29 (W)
Full Poem Memorized
Memorization Check
POL Work
Mon Nov 26 (B)/Tues Nov 27 (W)
If you still need to submit your recording, go to the Archive on my home page.
Vocabulary 5 intro
Review 2.3 from Much Ado
Blocking 3.1
Intro Community Book
Lang&Comp Survey
POL work...Louder than a Bomb?
Mon Nov 19 (B)/Tues Nov 20 (W
1/2 of your poem memorized--we'll have a check in class;
poem check
welcome to the Turkish students
Thurs Nov 15 (B)/Fri Nov 16 (W)
Recording of POL poem due.
Here are some links from Mrs. Barr that could be helpful to you:
Audacity: http://yarmouthtechnotes.wikispaces.com/Audacity

WebApps: http://yarmouthtechnotes.wikispaces.com/Publishing+Your+Work+Online
Submit using the Google Form below.
Work on memorizing your poem for POL

Tues Nov 13 (B)/Wed Nov 14 (W)
Work on memorizing your poem for POL

Thurs Nov 9 (B)/Fri Nov 10 (W)
All of Tone Map due
Study for Vocabulary Quiz #4
Vocab Quiz #4
Tues Nov 6 (B)/Wed Nov 7 (W
Half of Tone Map due
Vocab Review #4
Tone Map work
Shakespeare slideshow
Begin Much Ado
Fri Nov 2 (B)/Mon Nov 5
Write your poem out on index cards
Recording Info from Mrs. Barr
Tone Map work
Sentences
Shakespeare slideshow
Wed Oct 31 (B)/Thurs Nov 1 (w)
Final Poetry Analytical essay due
Vocab list #4 intro
Poetry Out Loud work
Shakespeare slideshow
Mon Oct 29 (B)/Tues Oct 30 (W)
First full draft of analytical poem essay due:
4 paragraphs in total:
intro
2 analytical body paragraphs with MEAT
conclusion
Writing/editing work
Thurs Oct 25 (B)/Fri Oct 26 (W)
Study for vocab quiz.
Analytical body paragraph due
Vocabulary Quiz #3
writing work
Tues Oct 23 (B)/Wed Oct 24 (W)
Finish Comic Life and 1st page of organizational worksheet
vocab practice
Fri Oct 19 (B)/Mon Oct 22 (W)

Vocabulary intro
Work on essay
Mon Oct 15(B)/Tues Oct 16 (W)
Read through the packet called "Poetry Explication Essay"
Choose your poem for your analytical essay and Poetry Out Loud
use www.poetryoutloud.org
You might consider picking 2-3 poems and sharing them with classmates to help you decide. Two house rules:
1. You may not pick the poem you chose last year
2. Everyone in our class needs to choose a different poem

Thurs Oct 11(B)/Fri Oct 12 (W)
Study for vocabulary quiz
Be ready for poetry tournament
Vocabulary Quiz #2
(Poetry Tournament) or Sentence variety excerise
Introduce analytical essay
Tues Oct 9 (B)/Wed Oct 10 (W)
Animal Poem due--use the directions that are in the packet
Finish going over poetry terms;
Discuss poems with figurative language
Study and review vocabulary terms
Begin poetry tournament
Tues Oct 2(B)/Wed 3 (W)
Finish glossing and revising (all grammatical errors I've noted fixed). Bring questions and we can answer/go over them at the beginning of class.
Word Choice
Fri Sept 28 (B)/Mon Oct 1 (W)
Write at least 5 good sentences about your group's poem: Connect an idea about a meaning in the poem to the way the poem sounds. Be ready for a short matching quiz on the sound terms we've been using in class and finding the sound terms in some new poems.
Finish sound, start word choice
Wed Sept 26 (B)/Thurs Sept 27 (W)
Study for vocab quiz
Vocab Quiz #1
Sound
Mon Sept 24 (B)/Tues Sept 25 (W)
Go to www.poetryoutloud.org, www.poets.org, or www.poetryfoundation.org and find and example of a metered poem. Print and scan it using the notations I showed you in class. Also, try to write 4 lines of either iambic or trochaic meter. Don't worry about the number of syllables per line just try to get the pattern accurate.
Sound
Thurs Sept 20 (B)/Fri Sept 21 (W)
Final Copy of your Descriptive Essay due
How did that go? questions
Begin Poetry
Tues Sept 18 (B)/Wed Sept 19 (W)
First draft--as good as you can make it--of your descriptive essay due for peer review
Peer review
Fri Sept 14 (B)/Mon Sept 17 (W)
One page of descriptive writing on your topic due. Don't worry about organization or having a distinct thesis yet. We will work on that in class together next time.
discuss organization methods
continue working
SEC
Wed Sept 12 (B)/Thurs Sept 13 (W)
spend 20 minutes writing and brainstorming about one of the places on your list
Organize
SEC
Mon Sept 10 (B)/Tues Sept 11 (W)
Be ready for your book discussion (notes with passages and questions) happening Tues, Sept. 11.
Reread "Mother's Watch" and answer the following question in a sentence: What dominant impression does Raymond Barry create with his essay? Definition of dominant impression is on the handout I gave you today.
Google Bataan Death March
finish discussing "Mother's Watch"
Journal Entry #2
Thurs Sept 6 (B)/Fri Sept 7 (W)
Bring in interesting object
This is Just to Say
Distribute Descriptive Essay info
Describe personal objects
Read one essay together

Information here
Descriptive Essay CP